Marina Villa

Marina Villa Reviews

Marina Villa

124 Moo 3 Tambon Maret, Amphoe Koh Samui, Surat Thani, Maret, Surat Thani Province, 84310, ThailandView Hotel Details
Marina Villa
Marina VillaMarina VillaMarina Villa
Check available rooms for your travel dates
We Price Match
1 night

Marina Villa Guest Reviews

4.1/5
Very Good
35 review
Verified reviews
Location4.1
Amenities4.0
Service4.1
Cleanliness4.1
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(35)
Positive reviews(14)
Reviews with photos/video(2)
Negative reviews(1)
Guest User
Standard Room
Stayed in Aug 2023
Friends
15 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 18, 2023
A nice little spot with wonderful beachfront, friendly service. Would return!
Kate Bokhno
Standard Room
Stayed in Mar 2024
Couples
5 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 29, 2024
The hotel is on the outskirts of Lomai beach, essentially a beach hotel, in a quiet location. Places to eat and buy groceries are within walking distance. There are 2 swimming pools on the territory, but their cleanliness is highly questionable! The sunbeds on the beach look very outdated ( The buildings have balconies on top of each other, a strange decision, no privacy. The room is spacious, the bed is quite comfortable but there are not enough pillows! Linen and towels washed with stains! Almost all the towels that were changed for us in 5 days were just worn out rags that should have been thrown away long ago! The water pressure in the shower is sooooo weak! Coffee, water, gel, shampoo were replenished every day! The hotel area is not large, there is a beautiful alley between the buildings leading to the beach. On the beach by the pool there is good food at a good price!
Original TextTranslated by Google
Александр Горелов
Standard Room
Stayed in Feb 2024
Couples
2 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 19, 2024
I liked everything, it’s suitable for a relaxing family holiday. Convenient location, quiet room and great pool
Original TextTranslated by Google
Rico
Standard Room
Stayed in Feb 2024
Solo travellers
1 review
4.5/5
Great
Posted on Feb 20, 2024
I lived there for 9 days. The location was great, right on the beach and there were lots of restaurants and bars facing the street. The service was very accommodating. The cleanliness was really good. The room's furnishings were a little worse than expected, one or two buttons on the drawer or wardrobe were loose, the shower was a bit awkward and spartan. All in all a nice stay.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Raf B.
Standard Room
Stayed in Dec 2023
Solo travellers
3 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 20, 2023
I liked the hotel. The staff is friendly. The hotel could use some cosmetic renovations, but overall the room is clean. Wifi internet speed is very good.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Standard Room
Stayed in Aug 2023
Family
2 review
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Aug 19, 2023
This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel. This year we lived in a bungalow on the 1st floor, but previously we lived on a higher floor because we were afraid of insects. We had no ants or cockroaches, insects did not bother us. There is a very good beach ***** near the hotel and the deep sea is literally 5 meters from the shore. Love the 2 swimming pools, which are kept clean. The only negative is the sun loungers and beach tables, which have been in need of replacement for a long time. The mattresses on some sun loungers are cracked. There is a cafe, but we only bought fruit shakes there and I can’t rate the food there. Tesco is 1.5 kilometers away, I walked. There is a shop nearby where you can buy essentials, snacks, and drinks. 7-11 meters 300 from the hotel
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Stayed in Mar 2024
Other
0 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 27, 2024
This hotel is excellent, very well located, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the room is very spacious and clean. It is a very good value for money. I will definitely stay here next time I come back to Koh Samui, this hotel is absolutely perfect.
Guest User
Stayed in Oct 2023
Other
0 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 2, 2023
I recently stayed at the Marina Villa Hotel on Ko Samui Island, and while I had an overall pleasant experience, there were a few hiccups worth mentioning. Let's start with the positives. The location of the hotel is fantastic, with easy access to the beach and some beautiful views. The staff during the day were friendly and accommodating, always ready to assist with a smile. However, I did encounter some issues. The condition of my room was a bit disappointing; it could use some renovation and maintenance. The reception was not staffed at night, which made it a bit challenging when I needed assistance after hours. My biggest letdown was the breakfast. The menu was quite limited, and the options were somewhat uninspiring. It would be great to see more variety and quality added to the breakfast offerings. In summary, the Marina Villa Hotel is in a great location and has friendly staff during the day, but there are some room condition concerns, nighttime reception availability issues, and room for improvement in the breakfast department. With a bit of attention to these areas, it could be an even more enjoyable stay.
Guest User
Stayed in Mar 2023
Couples
0 review
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 25, 2023
So I think you need to read this and ask yourself, what are you paying for? Given the fairly decent price when searching for somewhere to stay for two weeks there were too many compromising issues and so not worth it now with the benefit of hindsight. I do think however you get what you pay for and if you see the price of this place and think it’s a really good deal, the below may go some way to explaining why! And you may not care… like the owners of this place. Room Positives - air con worked great, not noisy at all. Seems newly painted though to a poor standard. Good size for two people, smart TV was unexpected brilliance! Given the rain we had and some nights wanting to stay in, being able to log into streaming services was great. Small fridge freezer was great too given we buy a lot of food in 7/11 rather then eat out all the time. Negatives - Quiet only if you don’t have any neighbours, can hear people moving furniture sometimes but not a lot. The doors leading the balcony are not sound proof at all, so hopefully no one’s shouting at 3am like we had one night. Hope the pouring rain, trilling insects don’t bother you ( helps me sleep but might bother some) Oh and cockroaches. ‘Only’ 2 in a couple weeks but still, not something you want to see in your room! Surprised also to find a gecko in the room, that’s probably a positive given the cockroaches! Bed(ding) - Positives- comfy bed with firm mattress. Large queen size. negatives - Bedding annoyed us the most. We arrive to dirty smelly bedding. Had them change it and they had to do it three times realising each time it wasn’t clean or smelling good. When they make up the room they simply rotate/turn inside out the bedding. We asked them after 7 days to change it again and all they changed were the pillow cases and bed sheet. It’s easy to tell given all the stains in the bedding making each one unique! Wet-room - it’s is what it is. It’s fine but there’s lots of mould around the sink and the mirror is peeling. Simple to fix but they don’t bother. Staff - Positives - they are there if you do need to find someone. Generally look to resolve anything when asked Negatives - quite apathetic to providing a proactive service. Which is odd for Thais, they are great people but here they are almost devoid of their normal smiles and eagerness to engage with you. Every interaction is a transaction with as few words as possible. Pools and loungers Positives - location overlooking the sea is amazing! Great sea breeze, palm trees, good stretch of the beach. Negatives - Pools are ok, the water is murky, doesn’t seem like they try to maintain a clear pool. But they are good size and look nice and are clean of debris. The loungers are not managed, people claim them overnight or early morning and some don’t even turn up leaving two towels all day and they are not used, staff should work to remove claimed loungers after a time of not being used so others can have them. They seem to be the lou
Guest User
Stayed in May 2023
Couples
0 review
1.0/5
Posted on May 20, 2023
Avoid like the plague I’ve never left a review in my life, I had to make a trip advisor account to leave this review it was that bad. I am currently writing this from the doctors waiting room. There were bed bugs in our bed. My leg got bitten pretty bad and when brought to the managers attention (when we could eventually get hold of them!) we were told “this doesn’t matter you’ll get better” we of course asked for a refund and we were told that they would give us a discount on our remaining nights there of 1,500 TBH which was insulting when we paid 23,843 TBH for the pleasure of getting eaten alive while we slept. The hotel never checked to see how my leg was doing or offered a doctor visit or spray for our clothes for the bed bugs We had to request to be moved to another room but I never saw anybody go in to our old room to investigate or treat the infestation of bed bugs. I’ve seen previous reviews remark on the bad attitude of staff which I can attest to and also the filth of the rooms. The bed clothes are not changed and the towels are not clean. Bed bugs in a hotel is unacceptable let alone disgusting, the way we were made to feel as if we were being unreasonable when we reported this to staff and the sheer lack of care caught us off guard, the vibe we got was that once they have your money they don’t care about anything else. My leg got so bad that it got infected and needed antibiotics. Honestly staying here ruined our experience in Koh Samui. Do NOT stay here unless you hate yourself The screenshots are from videos of live bedbugs found in our mattress. Disgusting.
Guest User
Stayed in Mar 2023
Other
0 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 29, 2023
My first time in Koh Samui. The room was spacious, clean and modern with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was of an adequate size and was again, clean and very well maintained however I think that it needed some modernisation. The shower could only be positioned to spray out at 90 degrees angle, which was slightly annoying. There is no 24/7 reception here, however the young lady on the desk was charming and helpful. The cleaning staff are also attentive and very good, servicing the room very quickly and seemingly as soon as it's vacated. This hotel has well maintained open spaces between the accommodation blocks and pools, with a variety of fascinating trees and plants, which I found to be very pleasant indeed. The beach is very close by and is accessed by some steps near to the bottom pool. There is a breakfast option near the pool from 0800hrs, however I found that the choices were limited, the portion size comically low and the prices to be high! In this hotel, there are two swimming pools in this hotel, both of which were clean and pleasant to swim in, however the small pool near the beach was rather murky on one day. Also, please take extreme care if you are an unconfident swimmer or here with young children as this pool shelves off deeply with no warning! Around the hotel, there are many bars, eating options and massage salons, however the area is simply too touristy for my liking and I probably won't return here again. In conclusion, this is a decent hotel for the budget traveller but please don't expect it to be five star luxury or five star service. Think of a two star hotel in Spain and you'll be on the right track!
Guest User
Stayed in Mar 2023
Other
0 review
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 14, 2023
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room ha 3 pin plug on it whilst all the sockets were 2 pin! Mosquitos came every afternoon about 4pm. Parking was mainly occupied by staff vehicles so that left 3 spaces all in a row. Pools were good and direct access to the beach. No breakfast but "Will Wait" jst to the right on the access road offered a good selection. Beware the sea when there is an off shore strong breeze, the waves look good but the beach goes down quickly and there is an undercurrent.
Guest User
Stayed in Oct 2022
Solo travellers
0 review
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 12, 2022
I had arrived early and was aware check in was 2pm so I had prepared beforehand. Reception were happy to take care of my luggage.I was advised to come back at Noon which I did and was able to check in. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. My standard double room was clean, spacious and modern looking. Everything worked fine. Lighting was good. One power point next to the bed. Nice size balcony overlooking the landscaped courtyard. The 2 pools (1 for kids 1 for adults) were clean and decent size. I only had breakfast once at the restaurant which all felt fairly basic to me. Overall, I enjoyed my experience here.
Guest User
Stayed in Mar 2024
Family
0 review
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 14, 2024
Very friendly hotel. Well located, 2 steps from the center on one side and the beach on the other. The rooms are clean and spacious with a large terrace. Seaside, 2 swimming pools. Beachside restaurant. This is a good address with excellent value for money. Go there without hesitation.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Stayed in Aug 2022
Couples
0 review
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 28, 2022
Ottima posizione, direttamente sulla spiaggia di Lamai,bello l’hotel e le piscine,nell’area delle quali (precisamente le sdraio ed i tavolini)la pulizia lascia un po’ desiderare. Le camere sono un po’ usurate ma ampie e confortevoli, credo però che siano da rivedere i cuscini…C’è la comodità di affittare i motorini direttamente in struttura inoltre al prezzo di 150 bt. Presente un ristorante interno fronte spiaggia.
Translate